Lime Green Lady

Crafting sanity

felt submarine.jpg

My little boy’s room is a true labour of love, completed almost entirely when I was very heavily pregnant. This certainly threw up a couple of unforeseen challenges (painting the very top of the floor to ceiling mural with an absolutely humungous belly springs to mind…more of that later) but the projects helped keep this fidget fingered girly sane.

whales and sub.jpg

During my nesting stage, I fixed on tackling my craft hoard. This included much colour sorting, boxing up and resolutions to use up odds and ends of various supplies.

Here began my crafting marathon.

Even before we knew we were having a boy, I had visions of this gorgeous vehicle theme, bold colours, beautiful shapes and using as much of the space as possible.

I loved the idea of making a mobile for the little one, and, having some off cuts of felt, I forged ahead with a submarine piece.  Rather than fish, I wanted to accompany the big yellow sub with sleepy whales swimming through the air. It seemed more whimsical, and I had the benefit of more belly space for some patterns viewable from below. Mobiles that neglect to cater for the baby’s vantage point bug me no end. Yes, they should be lovely for the upright adults to look at too, but they aren’t entirely for our benefit now, are they?

bottom of whales.jpg

sleepy whale.jpg

In the process of using up my felt stash, I got a bit hooked. This is the first of rather a lot of mobiles crafted for friend’s kids over the following weeks, and I ended up buying in a batch load of coloured felt.

(Ahhhhh, the joys of materials shopping. Hobbycraft is my Aladdin’s cave.)

So I am now in the rather unexpected position of having more felt off cuts now, than when I started.

Oops.

This entry was published on January 24, 2014 at 7:45 pm. It’s filed under felt, toy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Crafting sanity

  1. Pingback: Felt Birdies | Lime Green Lady

Leave a Reply

