Lime Green Lady
family blanket

Granny Squares and Messy Rooms

family blanket  Today was a good day. An exciting day. A make a mess in the living room day.

Kate came over to finish writing the book we have in the pipeline (I cant get those pesky stanzas out of my head, and I’m going to be tidying the living room for an age this evening…) , it a great two sided project and I’ll keep you posted about progress over the coming blogs . It takes advantage of my absolute favourite projects from the past few months, but I really wish I kept a more detailed pattern diary now! Lesson learned.

To wind down, I’ve added a few more inches to my trusty family blanket. God bless granny squares!

There are som  e absolutely fantastic granny square and motif patterns out there, but if you’re after a project that is really easy to pick up and put down, and has the benefit of using up those odds and ends of yarns from previous ventures, you really can’t go wrong with the following version.

Sometimes, simple really is best. I reckon the rainbow of different yarns plus a terrifically intricate pattern could teeter towards the OTT.

family blanket 2

Materials:

Double Knit wool, as many or as few colours as you like. NB, the more colours you have, the longer it will take to weave in the ends and finish. Trust me!

3mm hook works well with double knit, but try anything up to around 4.5 if you want a looser look

Yarn needle

Abbreviations (UK crochet terms)

c : chain

Rnd : Round

tr : treble crochet

st : stitch

sl st: slip stitch

c 4, an join into ring with a sl st.

Rnd 1            c 4, *3 tr into centre of ring, ch 1* 3 times,

2 tr into centre of ring.

Join to third st from first chain with sl st.

Rnd 2            c 4, 3 tr into corner ‘1’, ch 1,

*3 tr into corner ‘2’, ch 1* 2 times,

*3 tr into corner ‘3’, ch 1* 2 times,

*3 tr into corner ‘4’, ch 1* 2 times,

2 tr into corner ‘1’. Join to third st from first chain with sl st.

Rnd 3            c 4, 3 tr into corner ‘1’, ch 1,

3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,

*3 tr into corner ‘2’, ch 1* 2 times,

3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,

*3 tr into corner ‘3’, ch 1* 2 times,

3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,

*3 tr into corner ‘4’, ch 1* 2 times,

3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,

2 tr into corner ‘1’.

Join to third st from first chain with sl st.

Rnd 4            c 4, 3 tr into corner ‘1’, ch 1,

*3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,* 2 times

*3 tr into corner ‘2’, ch 1* 2 times,

*3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,* 2 times

*3 tr into corner ‘3’, ch 1* 2 times,

*3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,* 2 times

*3 tr into corner ‘4’, ch 1* 2 times,

*3 tr into next space along side, ch 1,* 2 times

2 tr into corner ‘1’.

Join to third st from first chain with sl st.

You get the idea! You can do as many or a few rounds as you like, and change colour whenever you like. I changed every round. Don’t forget to weave in loose ends to finish, and sew or crochet together to create blanket.

family blanket 4

family blanket 3

This entry was published on January 28, 2014 at 9:31 pm. It’s filed under crochet, pattern and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Granny Squares and Messy Rooms

  1. I started a granny square blanket last week to clean out my yarn stash. I’m using almost the same pattern except double crochet instead of triple crochet stitches. Your blanket is beautiful 🙂

  2. very pretty; – nice work!

  3. Granny Squares of Love on said:

    Such pretty colors!

  4. Oh I really like it. It’s so beautiful.

  5. Sarah Wallbank on said:

    Tilly this is beautiful! I cannot crochet granny squares to save my life but I wish I could after seeing this beauty! I need one of these in my life!!!!

  6. I made a granny square blanket for my 20 year old daughter last fall, when my 18 year old daughter saw it, she coveted and so I made her one too! See? Young peoples are loving it.

Leave a Reply

