Lime Green Lady
lets get crafting mag

Being Published and Making Dens

Those of you who join me on social media will know that I have recently been published in the wonderful Lets Get Crafting Knitting and Crochet Magazine. I was thrilled to work with the LGC team and am currently working on my third commission for them.

If you haven’t had the mag yet, it comes with a whopping 6 balls of yarn, knitting needles, crochet hook AND bonus beads, coupled with loads of patterns and projects for you to use them in. I designed a necklace and two headbands, one of which is featured on the front page of this month’s issue. Eeep!

lets get crafting mag

Having designs published has been a goal of mine for this year and I’m thrilled to have been able to reach that target, and in such a fantastic mag!

I’ve also been playing around on a somewhat larger project recently…

willow den

A few months ago (probably around the time of my last blog post) I decided to start a rather extreme craft project. So extreme that it probably classes as a construction project.

I thought it would be a nice idea to share so images I took along the way, and give you a little step by step guide, for anyone wishing to have a go.

When we moved in to our new house, I was thrilled at (and a little daunted by) the size of the garden. One of the main reasons for the move was to have a large, safe outdoor space for the boy, but the blank canvas was a little uninspiring.

This is stage 1 of a grander design for the back garden, and to make it just that little bit harder (because, hey, learning how to construct and weave a giant outdoor den wasn’t enough of a challenge) I decided to try to finish it for the boy’s 2nd birthday.

PLEASE NOTE! Don’t make one of these to a deadline. Especially if it’s your first attempt. Unless you’re willing to cream cracker your back, work long into the night on several occasions and have your hands scratched to high heaven. Ahhhh hindsight is a wonderful thing.

I do love gardening, it’s much like an art project that is never finished. It continues to grow, move, expand, change, develop. I’m not much of a plantswoman yet, but I do like a good DIY project so a nice bit of landscaping seemed like a good place to start.

Step 1. Source your willow. I got mine from Musgrove Willow, they are really helpful and are happy to offer suggestions or help, I highly recommend them. They can also give you an idea of how much willow you will need. I forgot to ask them to help here and ended up returned another 2 times to order more as I ran out!!

Step 2. Put your willow into soak. Musgrove sell soak bags, which are brilliant! Willow takes 1 day per foot of length to soften enough to work with, so I had to soak for at least a week before starting. Don’t forget to factor in soaking time otherwise you’ll be sat twiddling your thumbs. Like I was for the 1st week. Doh

willow den

Step 3. Mark out the shape on your plot and bang in some thick willow posts to make the basic structure. Lots of trial and error here, I used 1-2 cm thick willow at 1 meter intervals for stability and sunk them about 60cm into the ground. I then used the thickest of the weaving willow into the ground at every 12cm or so. I ended up doubling or tripling the amount of willow I used for the vertical pieces to make it more stable, but smaller structures or willow hurdles won’t need as much.

willow den

Step 4. Start weaving! This is really, really fun to do. Try experimenting with different weave styles, I particularly liked this weaving pattern:

willow den

But there are lots of variations to try. I did a messier weave at the very top, mainly because it was so hard to reach and I didn’t fancy propping myself precariously on top of a ladder for longer than I had to!

willow den willow den willow den

Step 5. Sleep. Or, like I did today, go to a spa.

Enjoy the LGC mag, do send me a message if you’ve made one of my patterns, I’d love to see them! And anyone who likes keeping up to date on social media, give me a like and a follow on Facebook and Twitter

lglx

This entry was published on August 13, 2015 at 6:10 pm. It’s filed under crochet, outdoor, photo tutorial and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Being Published and Making Dens

  1. Wow! I’m impressed!

    God Bless,

    Tahlia

  2. This is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

